Making Video Assignment 3 – Ella Meads

Reflection

When considering the topics I wanted to talk about in my video in relation to surveillance, I knew I first needed to read some scholarly articles to broaden my understanding and determine the arguments I could make. After identifying the two scholarly articles I wished to use, I was able to extract my arguments and supporting evidence. May aim was to demonstrate a broad understanding of surveillance by presenting examples of its positive and negative uses. I believed that an understanding of both sides of contemporary surveillance would allow the audience to gain a balanced perspective.

My planning began by writing a script, this involved collating all the information I had gathered and presenting it in a uniform manner. I also used the Rhode i-XY microphone as I did in assignment two as it worked well for that assignment and produced good quality audio. As for my camera set up, I wanted to frame myself close to the camera to make it more personal, so I set it on my tripod, on my desk and zoomed in to frame myself in a close-up shot. I framed and focused this shot entirely by myself and I was quite pleased with the outcome, especially the shallow depth-of-field. For lighting, I decided to use daylight again, as well as the flashlight on my phone to illuminate my face from in front. This created natural, well-balanced lighting that showed up well on camera. In terms of audience engagement, I found this difficult with the amount of information I needed to remember and relay to the camera, especially with the quotes and paraphrases from scholarly articles. Including video footage overlays was useful to further support my arguments visually, as well as allow to read from the script when it came to quotes and detailed information, so I didn’t have to look at the camera. The overlays I used were from videvo.net as I knew it had great footage relevant to my topic from using it in my previous assignment. In my previous assignments, I did not implement the use of any music, however, for this video I decided I would. My reason for doing so was that in this informational video I included snippets of overlay footage with no voice over and so to create an ambience avoid awkward silences I included some background music. I found this music from YouTube’s free music library and chose it for its calm, unobtrusive sound.

I found this video making process quite challenging from beginning to end. Firstly, the topics were very broad and weren’t necessarily things I was passionate about or interested in which made it harder to determine what I wanted to make my video about. I chose surveillance because it was the topic that I was most intrigued by and I had also created my last assignment about it. I found the process of reading through different scholarly articles quite gruelling and difficult. I think my motivation had really subsided at the time of making this video as a result of the extended lockdown and dealing with having my boyfriend live with my family and I and the family dynamics that came with that. I was eventually able to push through and gather the information I needed to begin my assignment, but I found the start of this process challenging. Another aspect of this assignment that I found difficult was trying to engage with the audience whilst remembering large amounts of information and quotes, and not being tempted to look at my script. I don’t think I overcame this challenge very well because watching the video back, I could see moments in which I did look down at my script. I also notice that I looked to the side of the camera at times, this may have looked like I was looking at a script however it was just a natural reaction and something I do when I talk. By watching the video back, I realised this is something I need to work on in the future to improve my audience engagement.

Whilst I found this assignment the most challenging assignment I have attempted this trimester, I was proud of myself for completing it, especially with the difficult circumstances we are all living under. I am sure everyone is finding it hard to endure this lockdown and I am thankful for the lectures and seminars every week in which I get to engage with my classmates and teachers. This has really helped me personally throughout lockdown. This reflection seems to have turned into more of a “journal entry”, but I suppose a large part of what affected my assignment process is how I had been feeling in lockdown, and so I through it was necessary to include that in my reflection to form a thorough evaluation.

REFERENCES

Dornan, P & Hudson, J 2003, ‘Welfare governance in the surveillance society: a positive- realistic cybercriticalist view’, Social Policy and Administration, vol. 37, no. 5, pp. 468-482, doi:10.1111/1467-9515.00352

White, A 2014, Digital media and society: transforming economics, politics and social practices, Palgrave Macmillan, retrieved 31 August 2020, Deakin University Library’s Catalog.

VIDEOS

‘Gas Hob 1’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/gas-hob-1/1799/) by Videvo (CC BY)

‘Eko Electricity Nigeria Drone 06’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/eko-electricity-nigeria-drone-06/458526/) by Videvo (CC BY NC 2.0)

‘Stressed Man Looking at Documents’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/stressed-man-looking-at-documents/8201/) by Videvo (CC BY 2.0)

‘Aerial Shot of Small Neighbourhood’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/aerial-shot-of-small-neighbourhood/4215/) by Tommy (CC BY 3.0)

‘Slow Motion Shot of Grimy Deli Streets’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/slow-motion-shot-of-grimy-delhi-streets/6453/) by Videvo (CC BY NC 2.0)

‘Animated Trading Candelistick Looping’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/animated-trading-candlesticks-looping/8113/) by Videvo (CC BY 2.0)

‘Stressed Couple Reviewing Finances 2’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/stressed-couple-reviewing-finances-2/7744/) by Videvo (CC BY 2.0)

‘Freedom Tower World Trade Centre UHD’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/freedom-tower-world-trade-centre-uhd/4455/) by Videvo (CC BY NC 2.0)

‘Social Icons on Screen’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/social-icons-on-screen/1568/) by Videvo (CC BY)

‘Typing on Laptop 4k (https://www.videvo.net/video/typing-on-laptop-4k/4780/) by Videvo (CC BY)

‘Computer Code Flying Through Loop’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/computer-code-flythrough-loop/4519/) by Videvo (CC BY)

‘Hacker Glasses 05’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/hacker-glasses-05/4498/) by Videvo (CC BY)

‘Hacker Code Green on Black 01’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/hacker-code-green-on-black-01/4513/) by Videvo (CC BY)

‘Typing in the Dark 05’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/typing-in-the-dark-05/4476/) by Videvo (CC BY)

‘Close Up of Mans Eye’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/close-up-of-mans-eye/5825/) by Videvo.net, Kiril Dobrev (CC BY 2.0)

‘Tracking Out Google Search on Screen’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/tracking-out-google-search-on-screen/514603/) by Videvo (CC BY NC 2.0)

‘Panning Close Up Typing on YouTube Search Bar on Screen’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/panning-close-up-typing-on-youtube-search-bar-on-screen/514541/) by Videvo (CC BY NC 2.0)

‘Overhead View Of Male And Female Colleagues Working Together At Desk’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/overhead-view-of-male-and-female-colleagues-working-together-at-desk/464959/) by Videvo (CC BY 2.0)

‘Young Female Professional Working at Desk 1’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/young-female-professional-working-at-desk-1/7268/) by Videvo (CC BY)

‘Samsung Offices in Seoul’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/samsung-offices-in-seoul/456484/) by Videvo (CC BY NC 2.0)

‘CCTV Camera’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/cctv-camera/1453/) by Videvo (CC BY)

‘Scrolling Down Facebook Feed’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/scrolling-down-facebook-feed/5371/) by Videvo (CC BY NC)

‘Close Up Pan Logging In on Google Sign In’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/close-up-pan-logging-in-on-google-sign-in-/514617/) by Videvo (CC BY NC 2.0)

‘Side View Pan of Male Quickly Turning Book Page’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/side-view-pan-of-male-quickly-turning-book-page/514752/) by Videvo (CC BY 2.0)

‘Middle Aged Man Having Video Call with Doctor’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/middle-aged-man-having-video-call-with-doctor/602272/) by Videvo (CC BY)

‘Legs of People in a Busy New York Street’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/legs-of-people-in-a-busy-new-york-street/5302/) by Videvo (CC BY)

‘Spinning Cubes and Globes’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/spinning-cubes-and-globes/1602/) by Videvo (CC BY)

‘CU Nurse Ties Patient in Gown’ (https://www.videvo.net/video/cu-nurse-ties-patient-gown/464196/) by Videvo (CC BY 2.0)

MUSIC

‘Zodiac Structures’ (https://studio.youtube.com/channel/UCkaOZ8beelhxhCIYEEePpGw/music?utm_campaign=upgrade&utm_medium=redirect&utm_source=%2Faudiolibrary%2Fmusic) by NoMBe (CC BY 3.0)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s